Falling Idols

We were given language, says an old parable, because God loves the stories. And he loves the stories because they help him know himself better. These eight tales in Brian Hodge’s renowned second collection advance the cause a little further.

Full of gods and devils, tormentors and deliverers, Falling Idols is a twisting, harrowing path toward the state of being that poet Kahlil Gibran describes as being able “to bless the darkness as we have blessed the light.”

Includes the novella “As Above, So  Below,” selected for inclusion as the 1998 entry in The Century’s Best Horror, gathering the most outstanding horror fiction of the 20th century.


  • “Stick Around, It Gets Worse”
  • “A Loaf Of Bread, A Jug Of Wine”
  • “Blind Idiot Lovecraft”
  • “Graphic Arts”
  • “The Dripping Of Sundered Wineskins”
  • “Sensible Violence”
  • “Cenotaph” (not in original version, added to e-book edition)
  • “As Above, So Below”
  • “Endnotes: Paradise Burned”


“There is distinct spiritual exploration in these the stories; nothing assured, nothing dogmatic, nothing didactic — but a sense of asking the higher questions and learning a meaningful balance between the light and the dark … a masterful writer at the top of his form.” — DarkEcho

“I’ve little doubt that Nietzsche, Sartre, the Marquis de Sade, and Albert Camus would all be fans of his work.” — Epinions