Same Story, Different Accolades

by Brian on February 11, 2016

in Fiction

So this is the other news about “This Stagnant Breath of Change” that I’ve had to sit on while awaiting the green light for all to be revealed.

Best-Horror-Vol-8(265)In addition to its making the Locus Recommended Reading List for 2015, editor Ellen Datlow has tossed it into the pot of savory stew that is The Best Horror of the Year, Volume 8. To which my culinary contribution was plenty of aerial meat chunks.

Lately, I find myself increasingly compelled to give editors the credit they’re due, but often don’t get. For Shadows Over Main Street, editors Doug Murano and D. Alexander Ward came up with a superb concept: Lovecraftian horror in golden-age small town America. For me, projects set off a ping when I learn about them. This one pinged my radar really really hard.

As for the reprint, up there’s the freaky cover art already. Works for me.

And here’s the Table of Contents, for what should be an early June release. As ever, it’s excellent company. Can. Not. Wait.

“We Are All Monsters Here” – Kelley Armstrong
“Universal Horror” – Stephen Graham Jones
“Slaughtered Lamb” – Tom Johnstone
“In a Cavern, In a Canyon” – Laird Barron
“Between the Pilings” – Steve Rasnic Tem
“Snow” – Dale Bailey
“Indian Giver” – Ray Cluley
“My Boy Builds Coffins” – Gary McMahon
“The Woman in the Hill” – Tamsyn Muir
“Underground Economy” – John Langan
“The Rooms Are High” – Reggie Oliver
“All the Day You’ll Have Good Luck” – Kate Jonez
“Lord of the Sand” – Stephen Bacon
“Wilderness” – Letitia Trent
“Fabulous Beasts” – Priya Sharma
“Descent” – Carmen Maria Mach-ado
“Hippocampus” – Adam Nevill
“Black Dog” – Neil Gaiman
“The 21st Century Shadow” – Stephanie M. Wytovich
“This Stagnant Breath of Change” – Brian Hodge

Awesome People Share:

Previous post:

Next post: